Beautiful. Really?

22 Nov

Proven marketing princess fashion marketing adelaide Just As Beautiful magazine for curvy women

I came across a magazine from the UK the other day. It’s called Just As Beautiful and touts itself as “The UK’s No1 lifestyle magazine for curvy women”. I could be wrong, but I’m guessing it’s the UK’s only lifestyle magazine dedicated to curvy women. And trust me, with a publication like this, being the only one is the only way to be number one.

That might sound harsh, but feel free to spend 5 minutes looking through the site before you pass judgement on my harsh judgement. http://www.justasbeautiful.com/

Now you see what I mean. And the prize for worst graphic designer 1993 goes to….the guy they employed to do their layout! Even the colours on their first printed edition are putrid. Pale blue and light pink, the sort of palette I would have loved when I was 12 (yes, back when it actually was 1993).

From what I can see of the fashion shoots, they’re badly staged and the styling is heinous. Honestly it’s so bad I can’t even be bothered to criticise it any more.

By now you might be thinking, “What is this bitch’s problem? Skipped her carrot stick for lunch today?” My problem is not the curvy women, who I’m sure are beautiful, healthy and sexy in the flesh. It’s the publishers that irk me. How is any woman supposed to look stunning in her grandmother’s hand-me down pre-war knickers with her hair piled up like princess Leia and a hideous matching choker?

But more irksome than the tatty styling and design is the idea that the crème de la crème of curvy women can only be “just” as beautiful as their skinny sisters. Not “More Beautiful”, not just “Beautiful”, but “Just As Beautiful”. It’s so transparent that this mob is playing on the insecurities of curvy women to sell their magazine. It’s like telling them they’re too fat to read Vogue so they’d better embrace this patronising big girls’ mag. And while I know a lot of curvy women would not fit into the pin-thin designer duds in Vogue, very few “average” readers can actually afford them either. But that’s what beautiful magazines are about – fantasy and inspiration. Imagining yourself in the amazing outfits and then getting real and using the ideas in a way that translates into your life and budget.

I can’t think of one woman I know who aspires to wearing a cream polkadot twinset with a black polkadot skirt. Just as beautiful? I don’t think so.

Leave a Reply

